Bluegrass Camp 2014

IMG_8024

This was our third year to go to Kamp Kaufman (Bluegrass Camp), and for these last few years its been something my dad, sister, and I have looked forward to with a lot of anticipation. This is the first year I decided to take a lot of pictures and try to document a little bit better what our week looks like; I felt like I carried my camera around everywhere, sticking it in peoples faces and instruments, but I still don’t feel like I captured everything I wanted or the pure joy of being there, but some things, I suppose, are better cherished as memories in my head.

So here is just a glimpse of my week…

On our way.
IMG_7837

The route we take has us drive through Kentucky for a little bit, and each time we pass the “Bluegrass Restaurant”, we always found a little humor in it since we were on our way to Bluegrass camp….     After three years we finally got the chance to actually stop and check the place out.

IMG_8664IMG_8612IMG_8613IMG_8614IMG_8623IMG_8630IMG_8635IMG_8637

IMG_8644IMG_8655

IMG_8658

There seemed to be a beautiful sunset every night.

IMG_7842

Started most morings with this…

IMG_8679

Maryville College is a really sweet little college with a lot of neat, old buildings, kind of quaint, but some were under construction this year, like the cafeteria.

IMG_8708

A cute little library on campus.

IMG_8712 IMG_8714 IMG_8720 IMG_8723 IMG_8726 IMG_8730

My first class was with Steve Roy, really cool dude who is super talented.

IMG_8698

For my second class I was privileged to have Missy Raines as my teacher, who I actually take online classes from as well. It was a real treat to get to meet her in person and have the pleasure of having her as an instructor twice that week.

IMG_8751IMG_8764IMG_8757IMG_8756 And last but not least, my third instructor was Rusty Holloway, a great teacher and an unbelievable bass player. I only had him once but I learned a ridiculous amount in his class.IMG_8848 IMG_8845

Here’s a random “From Where I Stand”  photo collage:

Untitled-1

Met quite a few people this week and made some friends with some really cool guys (also unbelievably talented) who we got to jam with all week long.

IMG_8785 IMG_8793 IMG_8812IMG_8768

My pretty sister, who is an insane goof ball.

IMG_8815 IMG_8819

IMG_8823

^ My good friend Clint, playing us a tune. Really solid young man, I can’t even begin to explain how great of a musician/song writer he is. He’s also got a fantastic voice that I’m pretty sure my insides melted at the sound of.   😉

One night we ventured into Knoxville and explored the Market Square, which is a really cool area if you ever get the chance to visit.

IMG_8857 IMG_8885 IMG_8884 IMG_8871 IMG_8865IMG_8858

Through out the week we also got to jam with two instructors, Annie Stainec and John Kael, who are a really cool couple; quite a pleasure getting to know them.
IMG_8827IMG_8894

And on the last day we got to do what is always the highlight of my trip, which is drive through the Smokey Mountains.

IMG_8917IMG_8918Untitled-2IMG_8024IMG_8014IMG_9078IMG_9065

 This time we met some new friends along the way…

IMG_9046IMG_8046

This precious little family of bears were the sweetest things on the earth.  The two curious little cubs had no fear in coming right up to our car and peeking in, but the mama kept her distance and let the cubs explore. (Note: Due to the low light in the forest and my overly excited shaking hands, the pictures aren’t the best)

IMG_8964

I could have reached right out and grabbed this little guy, and to be honest I almost did- the thought of holding the bear was almost worth getting my hand eaten off. IMG_8948IMG_8043

Once in a lifetime deal, and definitely my favorite part of the trip.

IMG_9018

Another jam session (ft. Annie Stainec, John Kael, David Keenan, Ivan Rosenberg)

IMG_9087IMG_9094IMG_9092IMG_9091IMG_9090IMG_9089

^ Andy (mandolin) and Chase (banjo) were also two of our buds for the week, and again, SO talented the two of them and an absolute hoot to be around, we really enjoyed their company.  And Dylan (below; banjo), who we didn’t meet till the last couple days, also really cool dude.

IMG_9104IMG_9097IMG_8893

 

We’re always sad to see the week end and we already can’t wait for next year.  Thankful to have made such good friends this week and to have learned so much.  Definitely a blessing having the opportunity to go for a week and spend time with my dad and sister, and to learn from and be inspired by so many incredible musicians.

Thanks for reading. ❤

IMG_8027

~ bye-bye, Tennessee ~

2 thoughts on “Bluegrass Camp 2014

  1. I absolutely LOVED these ppictures and the comments.  Tennessee is one of my favorites. You made me want to go back there. Gma 

Leave a comment